Bloodlust

This project was rather falling by the wayside even before I went and got myself a full-time job, but I’ve not forgotten about it.

For now, though, I just want to quickly mention this post at my other blog, about the frightening levels of venom, hatred, and bloodlust that have recently been directed at someone merely implicated in the disappearance of a young girl.

The fact that the man hadn’t been charged with any crime, and it hadn’t even been determined whether the missing child’s body had been found, make this case all the more disheartening. But even if it becomes known with certainty that Tia Sharpe died at his hands, he doesn’t deserve to be tortured to the extent that many are already planning for him.

It may be the case that there must be consequences for his actions. But whatever he’s done, he remains a human being. So do those Facebook commenters who deny his humanity and delight in the thought of such “scum” suffering immensely. There are no “others”.

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Bloodlust

  1. I enjoy all of the posts on this weblog
    In regards to capital punishment, I’m against it until I am for it. Certain crimes, involving torture and murder, deeply rock and move me, and I get riled up. The last example was the gang-rape in India wherein the victim was in hospital for days before dying. I was really maddened by shock and grief, even though I didn’t know anyone involved or etc. Before that, the Paul Bernardo/Karla Homolka murder spree deeply upset me; details that I heard from their videotapes of their torture victims put me into a really dark place of frustration and anger.
    But, that’s the reason why I’m against capital punishment… so the law doesn’t allow people like me to get so riled up that we’d insist or march or demonstrate until the state relented and killed the persons.
    It’s something I struggle with over time.

Leave a comment